Legislative Leadership Taking Shape Post-Election

The newly elected members of the 131st Maine Legislature will be sworn in during the first week of December. Because the beginning of any legislative session requires significant lead time and preparation, the decision to appoint legislative leaders is one of the first actions taken following the election. Legislative leadership plays an important role in selecting committee assignments, appointing committee chairs, and shaping the session schedule for the year.

Senate Democrats have re-elected their leadership team, led by Senate President Troy Jackson. Jackson is joined by Eloise Vitelli and Matthea “Mattie” Daughtry as Majority Leader and Assistant Majority Leader, respectively. Senate Republicans have selected Harold “Trey” Stewart as Minority Leader and Lisa Keim as Assistant Minority Leader. Stewart and Keim replace Jeff Timberlake and Matt Pouliot, neither of whom sought another term for leader.

House Democrats have chosen Rachel Talbot Ross as their new Speaker. Representative Maureen Terry is the new House Majority Leader and Representative Kristen Cloutier is Assistant House Majority Leader.

House Republican Leaders Kathleen Dillingham and Joel Stetkis were termed out and have been replaced by Representatives Billy Bob Faulkingham and Amy Arata.

The League proudly endorsed many of these newly-appointed legislative leaders in their recent election.

Following the December 7 swearing-in ceremony, legislative leadership will work on committee assignments. An announcement about these assignments will likely be shared before the end of the year. Session days and committee work will begin in early January, with statutory adjournment for the first regular session set for June 21, 2023.

Earlier this week, the League’s Governmental Affairs team hosted a Credit Union Town Hall to recap the election results and share expectations for the upcoming session. If you were unable to attend the Town Hall and have questions about the election results or upcoming session, please email Robert Caverly at rcaverly@mainecul.org.