NorState FCU Awards Six $1,000 Scholarships

NorState FCU recently awarded six $1,000 scholarships to members of the Class of 2021. Any student who has been accepted to an institution of higher education, is an active NorState FCU member, and attended a high school located in Aroostook County or in northern Penobscot County could apply. Along with a short essay, applicants also were required to list any community service projects they had contributed to or volunteered for.

“We put emphasis on volunteerism when considering applications for our scholarship awards,” said Susan G. Whitehead, CEO and President of NorState FCU. “NorState’s philosophy of People Helping People defines who we are as an organization. We encourage our employees and their families to give back to the communities in which they serve and/or live; it’s not unusual for the credit union to encourage its youth members to do the same.”

The 2021­ scholarship winners include Justin Pelletier, Emily Gendreau, and Emma Pelletier from Madawaska High School; Brooke Caron and Abigail Ayotte from Van Buren High School; and Mya Eno from Fort Kent Community High School.

Congratulations to these exceptional students!